In Florida, the ability to operate a motor vehicle is a privilege, not a right. It is necessary for all drivers follow the rules, else their license can become canceled, suspended, or revoked. Unfortunately, with the practical necessity of having a vehicle, some drivers break the law and drive without a license. Driving with a canceled, suspended, or revoked license can result in severe penalties from the state.
There are many reasons why a driver can lose their driving privileges in Aventura, Fort Lauderdale, or any of the other cities in Florida. Let’s review some of the more common causes:
One of the most common reasons that licenses are suspended in Florida is the failure to pay fines and court costs for traffic infractions and criminal charges. This is fixed by paying of the fines and reinstating the license. However, paying fines for certain offenses can actually cause more license suspensions or habitualization. Before you pay off your fines, contact a lawyer to get an assessment of your driving record.
Florida requires that every driver has insurance on the motor vehicle they drive. Without it, your driver’s license can be suspended for up to 3 years until you provide proof of insurance. There will also be fines of up to $500 assessed with the suspension.
Any serious offense where a motor vehicle was used to commit a crime can be cause for the suspension or revocation of your driver’s license. Some of the more serious offenses include manslaughter, DUI/DWI, leaving the scene of an accident, or using the vehicle to flee or evade an officer.
Florida uses a point system for driving violations. Collecting too many points can mean a suspended license. The points assigned to your license depend on the type of violation.
Here are the Florida point values for various offenses (this chart comes from the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles office)
|15 mph or less over the speed limit||3 Points|
|More than 15 mph over the speed limit||4 Points|
|Speeding resulting in a crash||6 Points|
|Moving violation (includes driving during restricted hours and parking on a highway outside the limits of a municipality)||3 Points|
|Moving violation resulting in a crash||4 Points|
|Failing to stop at a traffic signal (effective October 1, 2005)||4 Points|
|Passing a stopped school bus||4 Points|
|Reckless driving||4 Points|
|Leaving the scene of a crash resulting in property damage of more than $50||6 Points|
|Improper lane change||3 Points|
|Violation of a traffic control sign/device||4 Points|
|Open container as an operator||3 Points|
|Child restraint violation||3 Points|
You might have taken the Florida driving course and it was not recorded. You might also have had traffic tickets or other arrests on your record that have not been examined by the court.
A habitual traffic offender is defined as a person who has accumulated 45 points on their driving record or convicted of multiple offenses within a five-year period. Any person who has three or more convictions of one or more of the following violations from separate acts is considered a habitual traffic offender.
If you have received a letter from the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles and classified as a habitual traffic offender, your license could be suspended for five years.
If you have been arrested for driver’s license violations in Aventura, talk with criminal defense attorney Anthony Anise. He does things differently, and he will ceaselessly work to get you the most favorable result. A free no-obligation consultation is just a phone call away. Call now.